Laugh or Cry ?

 

I struggled with the decision of whether to post this. It is the most incomprehensible thing I have encountered while in Malawi. It is probably easier to read on the
newspaper site

It must be a long difficult and bizarre chain of life circumstances that leads someone to this. I have read there are three reasons for stupid, unsustainable action: greed, ignorance and desperation. This man must have been very desperate. Or he wanted to find a new way of qualifying for the Darwin Awards.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

About donmcmurtry

I went to Rensselaer, I worked at RDM and at RIM. Perhaps we have paddled together or worked on some kind of conservation project together. In any case welcome to this blog which will most likely be used for my Engineers Without Borders project in Malawi.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laugh or Cry ?

  1. Brian says:

    That article shook me Don. He did it for fertilizer. And Malawi has (at least from what I have read) a pretty widespread fertilizer subsidization program.

    • donmcmurtry says:

      People sleep every night outside waiting in line for subsidized fertilizer to arrive at SFFRFM. That is the place I mention seeing lineups in my Farming Lessons post.

      I am told the coupons must be used at a specific location so perhaps a logistics mess up has short changed Balaka. At other locations the number of poor is less voluminous so there is no waiting line. In any case, supply is not matching demand in Balaka and I am told the same thing happened last year.

      If I had to guess, I bet the people who manage this program need the same assistance that EWB is providing to water offices across the country – basic spreadsheet skills and a logical analysis of some data.

  2. Carol Duke says:

    Wow, un believeable. I would pick ignorance.

Leave a Reply

